## RED LAKE WATERSHED DISTRICT Board of Manager's Minutes October 10, 2002

President Dale M. Nelson called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. at the Red Lake Watershed District office at 102 North Main Avenue, Thief River Falls, MN.

Present were: Dale M. Nelson; Vernon Johnson; LeRoy Ose; Dennis Nikolayson; Lowell Smeby; Roger Love; Orville Knott; Harry Farris, Administrator; Arlene Novak, Accounting/Secretary Technician II; Sandy Radniecki, Secretary/ Receptionist; and Legal Counsel Delray Sparby.

The board reviewed the agenda. A motion was made by Knott, seconded by Johnson, and passed by unanimous vote that the board approve the agenda.

Arlene Novak read the minutes of September 26, 2002. A motion was made by Smeby, seconded by Love, that the board approve the minutes. Motion carried unanimously.

The board reviewed the Financial Report. A motion was made by Johnson, seconded by Smeby, and passed by unanimous vote that the board approve the Financial Report dated October 9, 2002.

The board discussed the request from the Red River Corridor Enhancement Committee for support of its project. A motion was made by Knott, seconded by Nikolayson, that the Red Lake Watershed District contribute \$10,000 to the Red Lake River Corridor Enhancement Project for GIS mapping of the Red Lake River. Motion carried with Manager Love opposed.

The Red Lake River Corridor Enhancement Committee also requested someone from the RLWD to serve on their committee. A motion was made by Knott, seconded by Nikolayson, and passed by unanimous vote that Manager Smeby represent the Red Lake Watershed District on the Red River Corridor Enhancement Committee.

## Permits

Motion was made by Smeby, seconded by Ose, and passed by unanimous vote that the board approve permit No. 02122 from Don Schmidt, Valley Township, Marshall County, with the conditions stated on the permit.

Motion was made by Love, seconded by Knott, and passed by unanimous vote that the board approve permit No. 02124 from Kirk E. Luckow, Fanny Township, Polk County, with the conditions stated on the permit.

Motion was made by Love, seconded by Smeby, and passed by unanimous vote that the board approve permit No. 02131 from Scott Mattson (for Thelma Hanson), Sullivan Township, Polk County, with the conditions stated on the permit.

Board of Manager's Minutes October 10, 2002 Page Two (2)

Permits were reviewed by the board. A motion was made by Love, seconded by Smeby, and passed by unanimous vote that the board approve the following permits: No. 02123\* from Douglas Erdman, Andover Township, Polk County; No. 02125 from Onstad Township, Polk County; No. 02128\* from Owan Larson, Tynsid Township, Polk County; No. 02129 from Euclid Township, Polk County; No. 02130\* from Glenn H. Hanson and John M. Barrett, Sullivan Township, Polk County; No. 02132 from the MN Department of Transportation, Knute Township, Polk County; No. 02133 from Oscar T. Carlson, Bygland Township, Polk County; and No. 02134\* from Vance Norgaard, Hickory Township, Pennington County. \*With conditions stated on permit.

The board discussed resolutions for the 2002 annual meeting of the MN Association of Watershed Districts (MAWD). A motion was made by Johnson, seconded by Knott, and passed by unanimous vote that the RLWD present the following resolution to MAWD for their support at the 2002 annual meeting:

**WHEREAS**, the Red Lake Watershed District feels there is a need for proper representation from our area on the Legislative Committee of MN Resources (LCMR), and

**WHEREAS**, the Northwest Minnesota and Red River Basin provide a unique geographic and demographic area within the State, and

**WHEREAS**, without a proper understanding of the area, it is hard to make clear, concise, and knowledgeable decisions in reviewing LCMR funding requests, and

**WHEREAS**, many projects within Northwest Minnesota and Red River Basin area rely on LCMR funding;

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,** that the Red Lake Watershed District requests the Minnesota Association of Watershed Districts support in requesting the Minnesota State Legislature ensure there is individual representation on the LCMR from the Northwest Minnesota/Red River Basin.

Administrator Farris presented his update to the board.

Don Ogaard, Executive Director of the RRWMB, was present to discuss the transition taking place when his retirement becomes effective January 1, 2003.

Legal Counsel Delray Sparby presented his update to the board. Following his update, he requested the meeting be closed to discuss the Mike Gasper lawsuit.

The meeting was re-opened to the public.

Motion was made by Ose, seconded by Knott, that the meeting adjourn. Motion carried unanimously.

Signed

Dennis Nikolayson, Secretary